Spring turns into Summer

Well, hello there… It’s Spring time, but it’s getting very close to summer.

(I have an odd confession, I love and hate summer all at the same time. Haha.)

My daughters’ are already out for summer break, and even though the days are turning longer, it’s still spring. Which means, storms still pop up, some days it’s already hot, and others it’s chilly. Mother nature can be a real pain in the butt sometimes. (Insert your sarcastic laugh here.) During the summer is the time, as a Mom, I get to spend countless hours with my children. This is why I love summer. (This is also where I wonder if I will have any hair left if I don’t pull it all out. Haha. Major catch-22 right there.) The heat and being stuck inside on a lot of days is the reason I hate it. (If we had a pool, I’d probably love it and there would be no hate, but… that’s not the case here.)

Summer reminds me of long nights playing outside, bonfires with marshmallows, and being free to run a muck till the street light came on. Watching my children enjoy their summer is now what I look forward to. It’s odd at times to see your children grow and become these little people with their own ways, all while each day passes faster than the last. At times, I wish things were as simple as they were when I was a kid.

Now-a-days, that’s not the case. People can’t let their kids run-a-muck for fear of predators, a simple time at the park can turn into a kidnapping. Everything has changed so drastically. Trust is no longer about putting it into your child, but it turns out you can’t trust the adults. I mean, clearly, my children have turned me into a liar, because I will repeat myself about ten times and then tell them we won’t be doing this or… and yet here we are… doing that. Haha.

funny mom life

 

I live in a small town, people here often believe that nothing could happen here. I don’t see it that way. You don’t know what people are going through an or what they are doing. You want to believe that everyone is good, but we all know that’s not the case. Just turn on your television’s and the news is right there to tell you how bad it is. I can’t remember a time now, where there wasn’t something bad on the news. The list of the bad outweigh the good on so many levels. None the less, we have to try and make the world safe for our children, even if it means you’re the one going to the park with phone in hand, just in case.

There’s something about summer that can take you to another place in time… Whether it’s friend gatherings, holiday outings, or just hanging out on your porch laughing, there’s still good to be had. We often get caught up on what our future holds, not living in the present. (I know I do this quite often.) But finding the joy in the small things is where you will find your happiness. There’s always going to be evil in the world, there’s always going to be those bad days that turn into bad weeks, but if we search hard enough we can find the positive.

So on this short blog post, I wanted to remind others that… Even if it’s spring showers that means summer is right around the corner. That means that you get to spend that extra time with your children, you get to be the one who watches them grow from toddlers to teenagers right before your very eyes. It happens quickly, so don’t blink. There may always be evil lingering out there, just remember you get to be the captain of your ship so to speak. Don’t let them win. Live your life, watch your babies grow, and enjoy the hell out of this life! We get this one shot here on Earth, make it count!

-Peace, Love, and all that Jazz- Dee

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

